The 11-6 March Madness Upset Isn’t an Upset

min read
Andrew Doughty @DoughtyBetMGM Jul 28, 2022, 3:34 PM
Nathan Mensah #31 of the San Diego State Aztecs shoots over Jesse Edwards #14 of the Syracuse Orange during the second half in the first round game of the 2021 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament at Hinkle Fieldhouse on March 19, 2021 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
(Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

Sixth-seeded Vanderbilt trailed 11-seed Western Michigan at halftime of their first-round game in the 2004 NCAA Tournament. In the final 11-6 matchup of the first round, the Commodores rallied for a 13-point win en route to their first Sweet 16 since 1993. With the win, 11-seeds went undefeated in the first round for the first time since 1999 and just the fifth time since the tournament expanded in 1985.

Exactly 17 years later, 11-seed Syracuse defeated 6-seed San Diego State in the first round of the 2021 NCAA Tournament. The 16-point win guaranteed a 15th straight tournament with at least one 11-over-6 upset.

The seeds and, in most cases, NCAA Tournament odds – Vandy, for example, was a 1-point underdog against Western Michigan – say it’s an upset. And for the first 20 years of the current March Madness format, history said it was an upset. From 1985-2004, 11-seeds won 24 of 80 (.300) first-round games against 6-seeds. Over the last 15 tournaments, entering Saturday’s games, 11-seeds have won 29 of 62 games (.468) and raised their overall winning percentage to .369.

They’re a four-game winning streak away from evening the series since 2005. Or they’re another 2016-17-like run – when 11-seeds went a combined 6-2 – away from reaching .500. 

That upset isn’t an upset. In the same way Gonzaga is technically a mid-major per Jack Kvancz’s definition, but not considered a mid-major after two decades of dominance, the 11-over-6 upset is not an upset. Fifteen years ago, Gonzaga was an obvious mid-major, just like an 11-over-6 outcome was an obvious upset.

The 29 wins since 2005 have come by an average of 9.1 points. Sixteen have been double-digit wins, including one 20-point win by Minnesota over UCLA in 2013. Only 10 have been decided by fewer than five points

Here’s the full list of 11-seed winners since they went 0-fer in 2004:

Year 11-Seed 6-Seed Score
2021 Syracuse San Diego State 78–62
2019 Ohio State Iowa State 62–59
2018 Loyola–Chicago Miami (FL) 64–62
2018 Syracuse TCU 57–52
2017 Rhode Island Creighton 84–72
2017 USC SMU 66–65
2017 Xavier Maryland 76–65
2016 Northern Iowa Texas 75–72
2016 Gonzaga Seton Hall 68–52
2016 Wichita State Arizona 65–55
2015 Dayton Providence 66–53
2015 UCLA SMU 60–59
2014 Tennessee UMass 86–67
2014 Dayton Ohio State 60–59
2013 Minnesota UCLA 83–63
2012 Colorado UNLV 68–64
2012 NC State San Diego State 79–65
2011 Marquette Xavier 66–55
2011 VCU Georgetown 74–56
2011 Gonzaga St. John's 86–71
2010 Washington Marquette 80–78
2010 Old Dominion Notre Dame 51–50
2009 Dayton West Virginia 68–62
2008 Kansas State USC 80–67
2007 Winthrop Notre Dame 76–64
2007 VCU Duke 79–77
2006 Milwaukee Oklahoma 82–74
2006 George Mason Michigan State 75–65
2005 UAB LSU 82–68

Listen to High Motor by BetMGM for more news and analysis on college basketball, college football, and the NFL:

Place Sports Wagers at BetMGM

At BetMGM, we have real-time betting odds for college basketball, the NBA, and dozens of other sports. View thousands of spreads, parlays, and teasers for the best online sports betting experience at BetMGM.

Andrew Doughty is a writer for BetMGM and host of High Motor by BetMGM, an NFL and college football podcast available on Apple Podcasts and everywhere else. He has written for Sports Illustrated, HERO Sports, Bleacher Report, and SB Nation. Follow him on Twitter: @DoughtyBetMGM

Actor Jamie Foxx on the Welcome Offer BetMGM's banner.
About the Author

Andrew Doughty

Read More @DoughtyBetMGM

Andrew Doughty is a writer for BetMGM with a focus on college football, NFL, college basketball, and NASCAR. A graduate of the University of Kansas, he previously wrote for Sports Illustrated and HERO Sports.

Andrew Doughty is a writer for BetMGM with a focus on college football, NFL, college basketball, and NASCAR. A graduate of the University of Kansas, he previously wrote for Sports Illustrated and HERO Sports.