2022 Selection Sunday: Start Time, TV, Date, Schedule

Drew Timme #2 of the Gonzaga Bulldogs shoots against the Oklahoma Sooners in the second round game of the 2021 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament at Hinkle Fieldhouse on March 22, 2021 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
(Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

The 2022 NCAA Tournament will begin with the unveiling of the 68-team bracket on Selection Sunday on March 13, 2022.

Two years after the canceled 2020 NCAA Tournament and one year after the unconventional 2021 NCAA Tournament played entirely in the state of Indiana, the 2022 NCAA Tournament is scheduled to return to its customary schedule and format with 67 games played over 21 days at 14 different venues across 10 different states.

Two days after the Selection Show is aired on CBS at 6 p.m. ET on Sunday, March 13, the First Four games will begin in Dayton, Ohio. The four games, featuring the final four at-large teams and the final four automatic bids, will return to Dayton after a two-year hiatus. They are scheduled to tip on Tuesday, March 15. Dayton is the only city that will return as a host in 2022 after losing games in 2021. The city has hosted the first games of the NCAA Tournament each year from 2001–the first year of the 16-seed play-in game–through 2019, the ninth year of the current First Four format with two at-large games and two auto-bid games.

Twenty-one days after the First Four tips off, the tournament will conclude 900 miles south in New Orleans, where the Final Four will be staged for the first time since 2012 and the sixth time overall.

Here’s the full 2022 NCAA Tournament schedule, starting with Selection Sunday on CBS and ending with the Final Four in New Orleans:

Selection Sunday

Date: Sunday, March 13
Time: 6 p.m. ET

First Four

Dates: March 15-16
Location: University of Dayton Arena – Dayton, Ohio
Host: University of Dayton

First and Second Rounds

Dates: March 17, 19
Location: KeyBank Center – Buffalo, New York
Host: MAAC

Dates: March 17, 19
Location: Heritage Bank Center – Cincinnati, Ohio
Host: University of Cincinnati

Dates: March 17, 19
Location: Dickies Arena – Fort Worth, Texas
Host: TCU

Dates: March 17, 19
Location: Moda Center – Portland, Oregon
Host: Oregon State University

Dates: March 18, 20
Location: Bon Secours Wellness Arena – Greenville, South Carolina
Host: Furman University, SoCon

Dates: March 18, 20
Location: Fiserv Forum – Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Host: Marquette University

Dates: March 18, 20
Location: PPG Paints Arena – Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Host: Duquesne University

Dates: March 18, 20
Location: Viejas Arena – San Diego, California
Host: San Diego State University

Sweet 16 & Elite Eight

Regional: South
Dates: March 24, 26
Location: AT&T Center – San Antonio, Texas,
Host: UTSA

Regional: West
Dates: March 24, 26
Location: Chase Center – San Francisco, California
Host: Pac-12 

Regional: Midwest
Dates: March 25, 27
Location: United Center – Chicago, Illinois
Host: Northwestern University

Regional: East
Dates: March 25, 27
Location: Wells Fargo Center – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Host: University of Pennsylvania

Final Four

Dates: April 2, 4
Location: Mercedes-Benz Superdome – New Orleans, Louisiana
Host: Tulane University

Listen to High Motor by BetMGM for more news and analysis on college basketball, college football, and the NFL:

Place College Basketball Wagers at BetMGM

At BetMGM, we have up-to-the-minute NCAA Tournament odds, lines, and tips to ensure the best college basketball betting experience. Don’t miss an opportunity for online sports betting at BetMGM.