NFL Teams With The Most No. 1 Overall Draft Picks

NFL commissioner Roger Goodell poses with quarterback Kyler Murray after being drafted first overall on day 1 of the 2019 NFL Draft on April 25, 2019, in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images)
(Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images)

The 2021 NFL Draft begins April 29. NFL Draft odds have Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence as the overwhelming favorite to be selected No. 1 overall. Lawrence is considered a franchise-changing QB. 

While having the No. 1 pick means you’re coming off a miserable season (unless you traded up), it also gives your organization and its fanbase some optimism.

This year’s team with that kind of optimism is Jacksonville. For the first time in franchise history, the Jaguars have the top pick. 

Check out the list below for which teams have had the No. 1 pick since the AFL-NFL merger in 1966.

Most No. 1 Overall Draft Picks by Franchise

From 1967 (post-AFL-NFL merger) to 2021.

*Baltimore/Indianapolis Colts6
Tampa Bay Buccaneers5
Buffalo Bills4
Cincinnati Bengals4
Cleveland Browns4
New England Patriots4
Atlanta Falcons3
Dallas Cowboys3
Houston Texans3
*St. Louis/Los Angeles Rams3
Detroit Lions2
*Houston Oilers2
Arizona Cardinals1
Jacksonville Jaguars1
Kansas City Chiefs1
Miami Dolphins1
Minnesota Vikings1
New Orleans Saints1
New York Jets1
Oakland Raiders1
Pittsburgh Steelers1
*San Diego Chargers1
San Francisco 49ers1


  • The Colts played in Baltimore from 1953-1984 before moving to Indianapolis.
  • The Rams played in LA from 1946-1994, moved to St. Louis from 1995-2015, and then moved back to LA in 2016.
  • The Houston Oilers are now known as the Tennessee Titans.
  • The San Diego Chargers now play in LA.

No. 1 Draft Picks Since 1967

1967Baltimore ColtsBubba Smith
1968Minnesota VikingsRon Yary
1969Buffalo BillsO.J. Simpson
1970Pittsburgh SteelersTerry Bradshaw
1971New England PatriotsJim Plunkett
1972Buffalo BillsWalt Patulski
1973Houston OilersJohn Matuszak
1974Dallas CowboysEd Jones
1975Atlanta FalconsSteve Bartkowski
1976Tampa Bay BuccaneersLee Roy Selmon
1977Tampa Bay BuccaneersRicky Bell
1978Houston OilersEarl Campbell
1979Buffalo BillsTom Cousineau
1980Detroit LionsBilly Sims
1981New Orleans SaintsGeorge Rogers
1982New England PatriotsKenneth Sims
1983Baltimore ColtsJohn Elway
1984New England PatriotsIrving Fryar
1985Buffalo BillsBruce Smith
1986Tampa Bay BuccaneersBo Jackson
1987Tampa Bay BuccaneersVinny Testaverde
1988Atlanta FalconsAundray Bruce
1989Dallas CowboysTroy Aikman
1990Indianapolis ColtsJeff George
1991Dallas CowboysRussell Maryland
1992Indianapolis ColtsSteve Emtman
1993New England PatriotsDrew Bledsoe
1994Cincinnati BengalsDan Wilkinson
1995Cincinnati BengalsKi-Jana Carter
1996New York JetsKeyshawn Johnson
1997St. Louis RamsOrlando Pace
1998Indianapolis ColtsPeyton Manning
1999Cleveland BrownsTim Couch
2000Cleveland BrownsCourtney Brown
2001Atlanta FalconsMichael Vick
2002Houston TexansDavid Carr
2003Cincinnati BengalsCarson Palmer
2004San Diego ChargersEli Manning
2005San Francisco 49ersAlex Smith
2006Houston TexansMario Williams
2007Oakland RaidersJaMarcus Russell
2008Miami DolphinsJake Long
2009Detroit LionsMatthew Stafford
2010St. Louis RamsSam Bradford
2011Carolina PanthersCam Newton
2012Indianapolis ColtsAndrew Luck
2013Kansas City ChiefsEric Fisher
2014Houston TexansJadeveon Clowney
2015Tampa Bay BuccaneersJameis Winston
2016Los Angeles RamsJared Goff
2017Cleveland BrownsMyles Garrett
2018Cleveland BrownsBaker Mayfield
2019Arizona CardinalsKyler Murray
2020Cincinnati BengalsJoe Burrow
2021Jacksonville JaguarsTBA

Place NFL Wagers at BetMGM

BetMGM is the best online sportsbook for up-to-the-minute NFL odds, lines, and tips to ensure the best NFL betting experience. Don’t miss an opportunity to bet on in-game lines, futures, and more at BetMGM.

Sam Herder is a writer for BetMGM and HERO Sports. A North Dakota State journalism grad, he spent several years in the print media industry before writing for online outlets. Sam has covered sports at all levels — high school, college, and professional — since 2011.